Fellowships in Mathematical Psychology

Fellowship & Scholarships Opportunities in Mathematical Psychology in Australia 

Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellowships

http://www.arc.gov.au/ncgp/futurefel/future_default.htm

  • Four years funding of a research-only position 
  • In addition, details depending on sponsor institution:
  • Research support about $60,000 each year.
  • Two PhD scholarships.
  • Hiring power for a “Level B” (Asst. Prof.) teaching replacement.
  • For people 5-15 years out from PhD.
  • Consider also a DORA.

ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA)

http://www.arc.gov.au/ncgp/decra.htm

The Science of Choice, By Members of The Centre for the Study of Choice (CenSoC):

www.newcl.org/docs/2012/Marley_CenSoC_General_Work.pdf

  • For people within 5 years from PhD (and up to 8 years if there were career interruptions).
  • 3 years of funding. Most often buys out of teaching.
  • Can be undertaken on a part time basis, for up to 6 years.
  • Up to $125,000 per year; covers salary costs and up to $40,000 project costs.
  • Most often buys out of teaching. Did I say that already?
  • Australia:
    • steady economy
      excellence in science
      nice people
      pristine beaches
      Kangaroos

 

Contacts (schemes require support of local institution)

The University of Newcastle

Andrew Heathcote
andrew.heathcote@newcastle.edu.au

Scott Brown
scott.brown@newcastle.edu.au

Ami Eidels 
ami.eidels@newcastle.edu.au

 

The University of Adelaide

John Dunn
john.c.dunn@adelaide.edu.au

Dan Navarro 
daniel.navarro@adelaide.edu.au

 

The University of Western Australia

Stephan Lewandowsky 
stephan.lewandowsky@uwa.edu.au

 

The University of Melbourne

Daniel Little

daniel.little@unimelb.edu.au

 

The University Queensland

Mike Humphreys
mh@psy.uq.edu.au

Australian National University

Michael Smithson
Michael.Smithson@anu.edu.au

The University of Technology, Sydney (Centre for the Study of Choice, CenSoC)

Tony Marley
ajmarley@uvic.ca
http://www.censoc.uts.edu.au/

 

A 1-Year Timeline

  • Contact an Australian sponsor first.
  • Prepare a proposal in conjunction with them.
  • Submit around February.
  • Results in October.
  • Take up new position, if funded, in January.